Laetitia. Massimo Orgiazzi


Howling the west, just west of the state
that politically leaked on the great
freedom-shaped boredom of this sort
of a world, there were millions amounts
of luminescent splinters of gods
running the cold from inside a blow,
feeding with time
those far mighty skycruising
bad sons of the clouds.
You who finally found living discoveries
inside the voice, you simplified lives
of this side of the tone:
the shell, the size of the story, the one
meaning of all my oldest glories
and my most complex historical frowns.

15 thoughts on “Laetitia. Massimo Orgiazzi

  1. And I think the yours is a centered reading of this poem, even if there are in it some strong inside inspirations, present in the other short poem as well: nevertheless nothing, even if interior, is politics/polis free and the relationship is maybe always visible.

  2. With regard to the language here, I have trouble with certain phrases:
    “there were millions amounts”
    “this side of the tone”
    “politically leaked”
    “most complex historical frowns’
    These phrases read and sound extremely awkward in English, and this awkwardness suggested to me that they were translations. I may be wrong, but it looks a bit like a Google Translate version of an Italian poem, and I think this is what Vocativo is also suggesting. This is a dangerous practice and can lead a writer into believing they can write equally well in any language.

    I’ve looked at Massimo’s blog La Stanza Cinese, and the material in Italian looks good, but the English pieces all suffer from this same strained effect.

  3. I agree with you Bill,

    though the text is really engaging, it does have a few clumsy lines that could be smoothed down. Perhaps some of the phrases you highlighted do work grammatically, but are not idiomatic.
    The opening is really evocative…i like it.
    m

  4. thank you for your honest comments Will and Mariangela, I’m sure massimo won’t be offended by them. As I wrote in the first comment, I like the the tension between ‘inside’ and ‘ouside’ world. Maybe Massimo can offer us an Italian version of the poem..

  5. Thanks to everyone for what you wrote about the poem. Actually I’m trying to find a way to express what in this period seems to be very far from italian and it’s possible that my english sounds awkward for two reasons: the first is that I do not have the total capacity to express myself in english, so that poetry suffers from some defects and from “this strained effect” that Bill highlights. The second reason is that when I started writing poetry in italian language, the mother tongue underwent a similar process of twisting words and sintax and it took time to get to a more “normal” behavior. Anyway this is neither a Google Poetry experiment, which nevertheless I practice, nor a translation: it would be a good exercise trying to translate the poem and maybe I can do it. I don’t think to be able to write equally well in both languages: I don’t think to write well in italian, so far, therefore everything I write is just an experiment, above all these ones in english. Thanks a lot for eevery suggestion: that tells me I need to find a similar way to improve my writing, in english as in italian, by reading more.

  6. I wish you all the best, Massimo. There are some fine things in the poem. I wish i could write as well in Italian. I await your next contribution.

    Buon lavoro!

Leave a Reply

